15 Best Grumpy & Sunshine Fantasy Novels You’d Love To Read

Grumpy and sunshine fantasy romance novels to read scaled

I’m not even kidding when I say that the mesmerizing magic these novels contain is even sweeter in fantasy novels, and if you’re on this page, you’re probably itching for some recommendations – I’ve got you covered. 

In this post, I’ll be listing 15 grumpy/sunshine fantasy romance novels that will have you buzzing for days.

I’m talking opposites attract with leads that have fiery chemistry, endless heartache and pining, and, of course, a perfect HEA.  

Here are 15 most romantic grumpy & sunshine fantasy novels you need to read right now:

1. Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches by Kate Scelsa

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches

This witchy, atmospheric lesbian contemporary romance will sweep you off your broomstick.  Skeptical Eleanor’s life takes a magical twist when a tarot guide arrives. 

With real-life witch Pix and her coven, Eleanor discovers friendship, romance, and some enchanting surprises. But her complicated past threatens to ruin it all. 

This coming-of-age tale reminds us to cherish the present and fall under a spell whenever we can. 

2. Seasons of The Storm by Elle Cosimano

Seasons of The Storm by Elle Cosimano

On a fateful night, Jack Sommers faced an extraordinary choice: eternal life or certain death.

Opting to live, he became a Winter, embodying the season’s magic. The catch? Each year, he hunts the preceding season. 

Against all odds, Jack falls for Fleur, a Spring. To be together, they must break free from the relentless cycle and defy their creator.

Jack and Fleur won’t go down without a fight in this captivating tale of immortality and forbidden romance.

This is a perfect grumpy/sunshine fantasy novel to read if you’re in the mood to be charmed by witty banter, undeniable chemistry, and many heartwarming moments, 

3. Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikut

Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta

In a world plagued by Godolia’s tyrannical rule and their monstrous Windup machines, two girls find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict. 

Eris, a rebellious Gearbreaker, and Sona, a Windup pilot with a secret mission, join forces against their common enemy. 

As they grow closer, both as comrades and something more, they prepare for their most dangerous mission yet—to end Godolia’s reign. 

4. Twin Crowns by Catherine Doyle & Katherine Webber

Twin Crowns by Catherine Doyle

Wren is determined to take her sister’s place in the palace, but a charming guard and mischievous magic complicate her plans. 

Meanwhile, Princess Rose discovers a wild and enchanting world beyond the palace walls, and the witches she feared might actually be her long-lost family. 

As they both vie for power and face a sinister foe, this thrilling journey of love, magic, and sisterhood slowly unfolds in this irresistible tale. 

5. Fire by Kristin Cashore

Fire by Kristin Cashore

In the tumultuous land of the Dells, King Nash fights to keep his throne while rebels gather strength.

Fire, the last human monster, with her captivating appearance and flame-colored hair has mind-control powers which she guards fiercely. 

Prince Brigan seeks her help in King City to uncover a plot against the king, and as Fire explores her untapped potential, she realizes she could save the kingdom—if only she can conquer her fear of becoming like her father.

6. Wolf Gone Wild by Juliette Cross

Wolf Gone wild

Mateo Cruz, a werewolf unable to shift for months, is desperate to avoid going insane, so he seeks help from Evie Savoie, a rule-following witch who’s wary of werewolves.

When Mateo’s wolf sets its sights on Evie, things get wild. 

Guys, I don’t want to spoil anything, but imagine the grumpiest of souls together with a preternaturally bubbly character – that’s what this novel delivers. 

If you want to read a reverse grumpy/sunshine fantasy romance that proves opposites make the perfect match, it won’t be a bad idea to start from here. 

7. Wicked Ugly Bad by Cassandra Gannon

Wicked Ugly Bad

In this twisted fairy tale retelling, Scarlett Riding is determined to prove Cinderella’s evilness. 

Locked up in a dreary prison, she hatches a plan to reclaim her life with the help of Marrok Wolf, a “bad boy” in therapy.

Together, they assemble a crew of storybook villains for a daring jailbreak. 

8. Prince of Never by Juno Heart

Prince Of Never by Juno Heart

Lara, a spirited waitress with a heavenly voice, unknowingly captivates a fae prince from another realm.

When she tumbles into Faery, an obnoxious huntsman mistakes her for a troll—surprise! He’s the cursed Prince of Air in disguise. 

Meanwhile, Queen Mama Fae isn’t impressed, the Unseelie court wants her as a pet, and an evil air mage wants her gone. Stuck in the Land of Five, Lara’s hit rock bottom. 

But with her magical voice, she’s a true diva who can change fate and make the Prince of Never a little less swoon-worthy. 

9. The Gods Of Men by Barbara Kloss

thegodsofmenbybarbarakloss3390091272861306785

Sable is a rebellious soul who despises meddling gods and the chaos caused by men in their name.

With her flute’s unknowing power over souls, tragedy strikes, propelling her into a decade of hiding as a healer in The Wilds. 

But now, a relentless spirit hunts her, and her only hope lies with the enigmatic Provincial, Jos.

To stop a nefarious necromancer’s plot, Sable must embrace her forbidden abilities and face her growing feelings for Jos. 

This dark and thrilling fantasy is perfect for fans of Sanderson, Novik, and Schwab, and you’ll really enjoy it if you fancy an opposites-attract fantasy romance novel with the grumpy and sunshine trope that’s pure genius. 

10. Bonded by Thorns by Elizabeth Helen

Bonded by Thorns by Elizabeth Helen

In this Beauty & The Beast retelling, Rosalina never imagined she would be living a fairytale until her dad got trapped in the fae realm. 

Determined to save him, she strikes a deal with four alluring fae princes who transform into beasts at night. 

If she helps them find their mates, they’ll set her free. Simple, right? Not when Rosalina starts falling for these captivating princes, each with their own irresistible qualities. 

But time is running out, as an evil Prince of Thorns threatens to steal all the magic. 

Also see: 22 Beauty And The Beast Retellings That Will Make You Fall In Love All Over Again

11. Taken by Katerina Martinez

Taken by Katerina Martinez

Dahlia is a seamstress who designs magical dresses at Carnaby Street shop, but everything changes when the fae kidnaps her. 

They think she’s fae too and force her into a deadly competition to win the Prince’s hand. 

The problem is that the prince personally took her, and while she’s drawn to him, she can only survive if she maintains her distance, and this proves difficult every single day. 

12. Psycho Shifters by Jasmine Mas

Psycho Shifters by Jasmine Mas

Sadie is a shifter, fighting for freedom, and when her 6’5 roommates who doubt her strength place her in war, she’s determined to prove them wrong. 

This dark paranormal reverse harem bully romance where three psycho alpha shifters meet their match is perfect reading if you’re in the mood for something decidedly hotter, and I feel you’re going to enjoy the dynamics and complexities of her relationship with the four. 

13. Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall by Susan Ee

When warrior angels snatch her little sister, Penryn strikes a deal with an enemy angel to get her back, so she teams up with Raffe, a broken warrior, and they navigate dark and twisted Northern California, risking everything for their goals.

This is another perfect book to read if you fancy a fantasy romance with the sunshine and grumpy trope that shows in sweet, sweet detail the way their worlds collide and love blossoms.

14. A Fragile Enchantment by Allison Saft

A Fragile Enchantment by Allison Saft

Niamh, a magical dressmaker, sparks scandal when her connection with the groom catches the attention of a gossip columnist at a royal wedding. 

Amidst unrest and secrets in Avaland, Niamh, and Kit forge an unlikely friendship turned romance. 

But exposing the truth risks dreams and love.

15. To Kill A Shadow by Katherine Quinn

To Kill A Shadow by Katherine Quinn

In a cursed kingdom devoid of sunlight, a warrior and a charming commander embark on a perilous quest. Their mission? To conquer the monster-infested fog and restore the sun’s radiant glow.


And, that’s a wrap on this article about the best grumpy and sunshine romance novels to read right now, but I’m sure there are lots more so let me know in the comments below. 

Guys, there’s nothing as sweet as watching the delicious tension between the grumpy and sunshine as they find their way to each other’s hearts.

If you’re in the mood for some more amazing recommendations, check out the related posts below. 

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *